New Adult

Atria Authors Signing

I’m a pretty avid reader. I read a lot and very often. I have a irewards card instead of a Plum Rewards for Chapters Indigo because I spend way too much money there.

Last week, I ventured to the zoo. And not the Toronto Zoo. Yorkdale Mall. And not because it has a Rainforest Cafe, but Yorkdale Mall pretty much is one. The parking is atrocious. With 7200 parking spaces, you still have to battle to get one. Just one. For my little red Corolla. All because I wanted to go to a book signing at Indigo. And I went 3 hours early. Let’s not get me started with actually walking in that mall.

I’m an avid reader. I read almost everything. But I’ve come to a point in my life that I’m so stressed out from my studies and work that I just want to relax. Light reading is all I need and want.

I discovered Abbi Glines shortly after a breakup of a long term relationship. I was wandering in Chapters, looking for any source of comfort that wasn’t a venti soy no whip peppermint white mocha, with one less pump of peppermint and brewed at 140 degrees. When I saw the cover of The Vincent Boys and The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines, I was immediately sold.

Reading this stuff really appeals to me. And I think it comes from the fact that I’m at the age, where I’ve completed my University experience and am not necessarily ready to enter the more mature, grown up, real world. The New Adult genre is just that. New. It’s different. It’s 19-25 year old characters, living their lives, whether rich or poor, trying to find love. It is modern: there is sex, drugs, iPhones and best of all, a whole crowd of young women who can identify with them.

Abbi Glines Signing

Anyways, I got to meet Abbi Glines, Colleen Hoover, Jamie McGuire and KA Tucker, KA being a Toronto author, which was amazing to see. They were really nice and were mostly flattered with it all. Yorkdale was their last stop on their mini tour and I’m so happy that I got my book signed and that they even thought to come to Toronto.

I think being in a group of people that you know have been reading Young Adult is so refreshing. I’m Asian, my parents were very quiet about this kind of stuff and growing up in a very predominantly Asian area, so were my friends. And I was always the kid that was naturally curious about it and never had anyone to talk to about the whole ordeal, never mind the stuff written in books.

It was nice to gush over the same guys from these books, get everyone’s view on them and have a mutual understanding that we all have ridiculously high expectations because of it. It’s oddly comforting and I’m really glad I went. I even met some new book buddy friends!

The picture on the right is the autograph, if you will, of Abbi Glines in my copy of the Vincent Boys, after I told her that those books got me through the worst breakup of my life. She also wrote in my copy of the Vincent Brothers. If she comes back, I’m bringing my whole collection with me. She was so sweet and I loved just being in the same room as her energy.

So the moral of today’s post is: Guys in trucks are better. Find one!

If you know one, let me know ;)

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

